Local Music

Hoku Zuttermeister

Local Spotlight: Hoku Zuttermeister


Hōkū has been a part of the Hawaiian music industry for a very long time. In 2008 Hōkū's album, “‘Āina Kūpuna”, won six Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards including Hawaiian Album of the Year. Hōkū’s outlook toward the future includes sharing his music and experiences and hopes to provide a platform for future generations of Hawaiian musicians to stand on.

Ron Artis II

Local Spotlight: Ron Artis II


Best known for his work as Ron Artis II and Thunderstorm in Hawaii. Ron’s recordings include genres of music from Rock, Blues, Jazz and completely to the other side of the world into classical, flamenco, then into the streets of rap, R&B and soul. He believes that “Music is meant to be lived, as life is meant to be lived.”

Henry Kapono

Local Spotlight: Henry Kapono Presents: Back In The Day; The Songs of C&K


Most recently in 2017, Henry has been honored at the Grammy Museum for his work in Cecilio & Kapono. Still relevant today, The Songs of C&K have endured the test of time and have taken on a new life as a new generation of artists join Henry in his latest project, “The Songs of C&K”, to sing the songs Hawaii still grows up with and carry the torch forward!

Manoa DNA

Local Spotlight: Manoa DNA


Weaving a patchwork of styles and genres into one solid sound, this multi-generational group quickly became a fixture in the local music scene. They have taken the science out of DNA and replaced it with harmonies that will touch your soul.

Danny & Nicholas Kaleikini

Local Spotlight: Danny & Nicholas Kaleikini's Holiday Concert


Danny Kaleikini, a staple in Hawaiian music and the “Ambassador of Aloha,” has been entertaining audiences from around the world for over 50 years. Danny and his grandson, Nicholas, a classically trained musician and producer at Lana Lane Studios, return to Blue Note for a special holiday celebration.

Willie K

Local Spotlight: Willie K


Willie K is undoubtedly the only artist in the world who can go into an Irish pub in the middle of Maui and play anything from indigenous acoustic Hawaiian music to jazz, reggae, rock, country and even opera—and leave everyone within earshot slack-jawed in astonishment.